Maseeh College Inducts New Members into Denice Dee Denton Women Engineers Hall of Fame
Author: Maseeh College of Engineering and Computer Science
Posted: February 20, 2020
Maseeh College of Engineering and Computer Science inducted three new members into the Denice Dee Denton Women Engineers Hall of Fame in a ceremony February 13. 

2020 Outstanding Female Engineer 

Megan Smith, award-winning entrepreneur, engineer, and tech evangelist took the Outstanding Female Engineer honors.

Megan received her Bachelor’s and Master’s in Mechanical Engineering from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT). After graduating she worked at a variety of start-ups, including Apple in Tokyo and General Magic, before becoming the CEO of PlanetOut, a leading LGBT online community. Megan joined Google in 2003 and served as the VP of New Business Development, where she managed early-stage partnerships, pilot explorations, and technology licensing across Google’s global engineering and product teams. She then transitioned to Vice President of Google[x], Google’s advanced products team, and led a wide range of diversity and inclusion initiatives including co-creating Women Techmakers.

In September 2014, President Obama named Megan Smith the United States Chief Technology Officer (CTO) in the Office of Science and Technology Policy. In this role, she served as an Assistant to the President and focused on how technology policy and innovation can advance the future of our nation.

After leaving the White House in 2017, she helped launch the Tech Jobs Tour, which aims to promote diversity in the technological sector. As of March 2018, she is the CEO and Founder of shift7, a company specializing in tech-forward innovation and inclusive collaboration for faster, scaled impact on economic uplift, equity and inclusion.

She has served on the boards of MIT, MIT Media Lab, MIT Technology Review, and Vital Voices; as a member of the USAID Advisory Committee on Voluntary Foreign Aid; and as an advisor to the Joan Ganz Cooney Center and the Malala Fund, which she co-founded.

2020 Outstanding Female Engineering Students
Prerna Agarwal is the Vice President of We in Computer Science (WiCS) where she helps organize the annual WiCS hackathon. She is a Technical Course Support Specialist (undergrad TA) in the Computer Science department where she assists students with their coursework and works as a back-end developer in the Systems & Networking lab at PSU. Prerna is interested in pursuing her Master’s degree in Systems and Networking. In 2019, she received the Outstanding International Student Award in recognition of her leadership.

Alexandra "Allie" Hanson is a participant of the S-STEM Scholars program and student of the Honors College. She works at the Office of Information Technology and is and pursuing research opportunities at the Asynchronous Research Center (ARC). Allie is the Treasurer/Historian in WiCS. Through WiCS, she coordinates the WiCS Mentorship Program and annual Hackathon, with the goal of helping students from underrepresented communities succeed in computer science careers. Her experience at PSU has inspired her to pursue doctoral studies next academic year and her ultimate goal is to become a research professor. She looks forward to a future career in which she can give back and support students, particularly those that have been traditionally underrepresented in STEM.


In 2008, the Maseeh College established the Denice Dee Denton Women Engineers Hall of Fame to honor those who have made a significant impact through their dedication to the engineering profession. Inductees exhibit academic and/or professional excellence, are engaged with their community and possess exceptional leadership skills.